One Year Later…

One year later…

Look at the nations and watch — and be utterly amazed. For I am going to do something in your days that you would not believe, even if you were told.
– Habakkuk 1:5

It’s amazing how much one year can make a difference.

Last year today I was discharged from treatment. I didn’t have many expectations and had no idea of what I would do with the life that six weeks prior I was ready to throw away. I wasn’t sure of much, I wasn’t even sure if I was going to complete the semester, but I had confidence that whatever happened, as long as I had God by my side, I could move mountains.

Since that day, I’ve done so many things I never could have imagined.

In the past year I’ve seen my first snow, danced my heart out despite my dad moves, graduated from my sophomore year of high school, been to my first professional and high school sports games, seen an engineering marvel, started a blog, met and reunited with too many friends to count, travel to Vancouver to serve the community, bowled more gutter balls than I’ve ever thought possible, played violin at Elevate for a second time, won a raffle for the first time, had a big girl birthday party, gone on my first family vacation that was actually a vacation, climbed inside the statue of liberty, gotten my driver’s license, started learning the ukulele, coded a bubble shooter game, got invited to a worldwide robotics competition, seen many dear friends get baptized, and these are just the things I remember off the top of my head.

But imagine if this year didn’t happen for me. I think of what I could have missed, all the joy as well as the trials, and that really would have been a shame. I thank God for this third chance at life and this extra year I got on this earth. Happy. Healthy. Definitely stumbling, but undeniably holding on.

With Love,
Emma

One thought on “One Year Later…

Leave a Reply

